DGA Awards 2023: The Daniels Win Top Prize For 'Everything Everywhere All At Once'

The duo beat Steven Spielberg for the prestigious award, a key indicator of the Oscars race.

The 75th annual Directors Guild Awards were handed out closing night time at the Beverly Hilton in Los Angeles, and there has been something of an dissatisfied as Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert, directors of Everything Everywhere All at Once, beat out Steven Spielberg and his passion venture, The Fabelmans, for the pinnacle prize.

The Directors’ Guild of America has a balloting frame of round 19,000 contributors, and all through its seventy five-12 months history, the handing out of the DGA Awards has been the maximum dependable and steady indicator of ways the Best Director Prize will be determined on Oscar night time on the Academy Awards. In overall, just 8 DGA Award winners have failed to take home the Oscar statuette, the most recent being Bong Joon Ho (Parasite) who misplaced out to Sam Mendes for his paintings on 1917 at the 2020 DGA Awards.

At last 12 months’s awards, the guild bestowed the honour upon Jane Campion for her movie The Power of the Dog, which became a key milestone in her journey to claiming the big prize at that year’s Oscars ceremony. Despite that win, as well as the previous year’s win for Chloé Zhao on Nomadland, there was no room for any women within the slate of nominees this 12 months, in spite of superb paintings from the likes of Sarah Polley and Maria Schrader.

However, there was a female victory in the shape of Charlotte Wells, who was awarded the prize for Outstanding Directorial Effort of a First-Time Theatrical Feature Film Director for her film Aftersun. Aftersun is represented at the Oscars this year in the form of Paul Mescal, it’s leading man, who is nominated for Best Actor in a Leading Role.

There was also a double victory for HBO in the television categories, with Sam Levinson winning the Drama Series prize for his directing on Euphoria in the episode “Stand Still Like the Hummingbird”, while Bill Hader won the Comedy Series equivalent for his directing on Barry, in which he is also the star, for the episode “710N”.

The full list of DGA Award winners can be found below.


Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert, Everything Everywhere All at Once (A24)

Daniels’ Directorial Team:

Unit Production Manager: Allison Rose Carter

First Assistant Director: Rodney Smith

Second Assistant Director: John Nasraway

Second Second Assistant Director: Ken C. Wu


Charlotte Wells, Aftersun (A24)


Sam Levinson, Euphoria, “Stand Still Like the Hummingbird” (HBO)

Mr. Levinson’s Directorial Team:

Unit Production Manager: Will Greenfield

First Assistant Directors: Valerie Johnson, Sally Brunski

Second Assistant Directors: Cindy King, Colin Duffy

Second Second Assistant Directors: James Chestnut

Additional Second Assistant Director: Aaron Rose Leone


Bill Hader, Barry, “710N” (HBO)

Mr. Hader’s Directorial Team:

Unit Production Manager: Aida Rodgers

First Assistant Director: Gavin Kleintop

Second Assistant Director: Erin Stern Linares

Second Second Assistant Directors: Yarden Levo, Chalis Romero


Helen Shaver, Station Eleven, “Who’s There?” (HBO Max)

Ms. Shaver’s Directorial Team:

Unit Production Manager: David Nicksay

First Assistant Director: Jennifer Wilkinson

Second Assistant Director: Anna Vogt


Liz Patrick, Saturday Night Live, “Host and Musical Guest Jack Harlow” (NBC)

Ms. Patrick’s Directorial Team:

Associate Directors: Michael Mancini, Michael Poole, Laura Ouziel‑Mack

Stage Managers: Gena Rositano, Chris Kelly, Eddie Valk


Glenn Weiss, The 75th Annual Tony Awards (CBS) (WINNER)

Mr. Weiss’s Directorial Team:

Associate Directors: Ken Diego, Robin Abrams, Susan Kopensky, Ricky Kirshner

Stage Managers: Garry Hood, Bennymar Almonte, Phyllis Digilio, Peter Epstein, Andrew Feigin, Doug Fogel, Jeffry Gitter, Tyler Goldman, Arthur Lewis, Kevin Lishawa, Julie LoRusso, Seth Mellman, Jason Pacella, Jeffrey Pearl, Annette Powlis, Lauren Class Schneider, Eddie Valk


BEN SIMMS, Running Wild with Bear Grylls, “Florence Pugh in the Volcanic Rainforests of Costa Rica” (National Geographic Channel)

Mr. Simms’s Directorial Team:

Associate Director: Sara Brown


Anne Renton, Best Foot Forward, “Halloween” (Apple TV+)

Ms. Renton’s Directorial Team:

Unit Production Manager: Lance W. Lanfear

First Assistant Director: Nandi Bowe

Second Assistant Director: Susie Balaban

Second Second Assistant Director: Tim Neven


Kim Gehrig (Somesuch, Inc.)

Accessibility, Apple ‑ Apple (Direct)

First Assistant Directors: Michael Estrella

Second Assistant Director: Brian Steffen

Second Second Assistant Director: Shauna Frontera

Run Baby Run, iPhone ‑ Apple (Direct)

First Assistant Director: Matias Nilsson

Second Assistant Director: Carl Jackson

Second Second Assistant Director: Michael Paulson


Sara Dosa, Fire of Love (National Geographic)

This post was created with our nice and easy submission form. Create your post!

What do you think?

Written by Abu Bakar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Who Was Pedro Pascal in 'Game of Thrones'?

‘Ant-Man and the Wasp: Quantumania’ Delivers $118 Million Opening Weekend at Domestic Box Office